Gluten       Article     History   Tree Map
  Encyclopedia of Keywords > Chemistry > Biochemistry > Molecular Biology > Proteins > Gluten   Michael Charnine

Keywords and Sections
Review of Short Phrases and Links

    This Review contains major "Gluten"- related terms, short phrases and links grouped together in the form of Encyclopedia article.


  1. Gluten is a protein found in wheat, barley, oats, and rye.
  2. Gluten is a protein found in wheat and other cereals.
  3. Gluten is part of wheat; it's what makes wheat elastic.
  4. Gluten is a protein found in wheat, rye, barley, oats and triticale.
  5. Gluten is a ---hidden--- ingredient in many processed foods.

Gluten-Free Diet

  1. The diagnosis is confirmed if symptoms resolve with a gluten-free diet.
  2. When coeliac disease is conclusively diagnosed, it is essential to remain on the gluten-free diet for life.
  3. It is important not to trial a gluten-free diet before having the small bowel biopsy, as the villi may return to normal and prevent a proper diagnosis.

Gluten Sensitivity

  1. The stool test for gluten sensitivity alone can answer the question of whether or not a person is gluten sensitive.
  2. They really function best together and we are now offering a $10 discount when ordered together as a panel (gluten sensitivity stool panel).
  3. For these reasons, physicians evaluating patients with suspected or proven gluten sensitivity often avoid tests for intestinal malabsorption altogether.

Gluten-Free Mall

  1. Following a gluten-free diet is very complex and time-consuming.
  2. A gluten-free diet avoids these grains.
  3. Specially prepared gluten-free cereals (e.g.
  4. The Gluten-Free Mall ® has chosen to follow the most broadly accepted gluten-free standards, which are contained in the Codex Alimentarius.

Mall Reg

  1. Since 1998 The Gluten-Free Mall® has offered hundreds of gluten-free items to on-line shoppers.
  2. Download our Gluten-Free Mall® Flyer for your support group, celiac disease event, etc.


  1. These grains and foods containing them need to be avoided on a gluten-free diet.
  2. There's even one gluten-free beer, made from sorghum.
  3. Participating GFRAP restaurants enthusiastically welcome gluten-free diners.
  4. More controversially, I accept amaranth, buckwheat, millet, quinoa, and teff as gluten-free.
  5. Gluten-free bread, pasta and other products are available from specialty food companies.

Gluten Free

  1. You do not have to sacrifice taste or creativity to be gluten free.
  2. Gluten Free Delights has a full product line of bakery goods available to you.
  3. They need to follow a gluten free diet to avoid malabsorption and other symptoms of CD.

Small Intestine

  1. When gluten is removed from the diet, the damage to the small intestine heals.
  2. It's an auto-immune disease, often hereditary, and causes a chronic reaction to gluten in the small intestine.
  3. Celiac Disease: (Gluten sensitivity) A digestive disease that damages the small intestine and interferes with absorption of nutrients from food.

Corn Starch

  1. Gluten is not present in corn starch, which makes it an excellent substitute for flour in many recipes.
  2. Being gluten-free, Argo Corn Starch is the perfect substitute in cooking and baking when flour and other glutinous starches must be avoided.
  3. Being gluten free, corn starch is used as a neutral-flavored thickening agent in gravies, sauces and fillings and to give baked goods a delicate texture.


  1. The majority of people are capable of digesting gluten without any impact on the villi in the intestine.
  2. There are blood tests for gluten sensitivity and celiac disease.
  3. If the gene test is negative, it is still remotely possible to be gluten sensitive.
  4. To diagnose celiac disease, physicians test blood to measure levels of antibodies to gluten.
  5. Clay was diagnosed as gluten intolerant when he was 7; he was very short for his age, scrawny and looked malnourished.


  1. Gluten-free diets exclude wheat, rye, barley, spelt, tritical, kawmut, and usually oats.
  2. That newfangled spelt pasta may be "wheat free," but it's still got gluten.


  1. Rarely, the intestinal injury will continue despite a strictly gluten-free diet.
  2. This is because the immunologic reaction to gluten begins and occurs inside the intestinal tract and not in the blood per se.

Wheat Flour

  1. Gluten is found in wheat, rye, barley, and triticale.
  2. It is understood that gluten itself does not exist in milled wheat flour.
  3. Around 2,500 B.C. the Egyptians learned how to exploit the gluten in wheat flour making the first raised breads from yeast.

Baked Goods

  1. In many baked goods like bread and cake, however, gluten plays an important structural role, and gluten containing ingredients, like flour, are necessary.
  2. The development of gluten in baked goods affects its texture.
  3. Gluten-free foods, especially pastas, baking mixes and baked goods, are proliferating in markets.


  1. Gluten-free Grains and Flours for baking and bread.
  2. Gluten-free foods are made using flours milled from starchy plants like potatoes, garbanzos, fava beans, sorghum and tapioca.
  3. Sorghum is low in gluten and the seeds can be milled into flour and mixed with higher gluten flours or made into flat breads, pancakes or cookies.


  1. Intolerance of gluten (a protein in wheat and rye) is suspected of being related to the development of schizophrenia in some cases.
  2. Coeliac disease is a permanent intolerance to gluten.
  3. Gliadin irritates the intestines of a person with gluten intolerance and results in the inability to absorb food properly.


  1. The delicious allergy-friendly and gluten-free Snickerdoodle cookies will be featured on the Rachael Ray Show as the snack of the day.
  2. Gluten can be found in breads, cakes, pastries, cookies, biscuits, crackers, battered foods, cereals, snack foods, pastas and pizza.
  3. If you eat bagels, beer, bread, cookies, cakes and bakery items, crackers, pasta, pizza and pretzels, you-ve eaten a lot of gluten.

Contain Gluten

  1. Plain meat, fish, rice, fruits, and vegetables do not contain gluten, so people with celiac disease can eat as much of these foods as they like.
  2. Wheat, rye, oats, millet, buckwheat, and barley all contain gluten.
  3. People with celiac disease should always read food ingredient lists carefully to make sure that the food does not contain gluten.


  1. People with coeliac disease need to become skilled at reading ingredient lists and recognising potential sources of gluten.
  2. This damage is caused by exposure to gluten and related proteins found in wheat, rye, malt, barley and oats.
  3. Gluten is also hiding in foods like licorice, cereals, popsicles, some malt, soy sauce, natural flavorings and many convenience foods.


  1. No. There is no advantage in avoiding gluten if you do not have coeliac disease or a related medical condition.
  2. Despite the challenges a gluten-free diet presents, Dennis nonetheless believes that CD is a manageable condition.
  3. However, there is no scientific reason to justify the exclusion of gluten unless coeliac disease or a related condition is diagnosed.

Wheat Gluten

  1. Noted examples at the time included albumen from egg whites, blood, serum albumin, fibrin, and wheat gluten.
  2. Rice gluten is an excellent option for any pet allergic to wheat or corn.
  3. For instance, corn gluten meal has more protein than wheat flour.
  4. Many symptoms such as gastrointestinal discomfort and fatigue are attributed to gluten or wheat 'allergies'.
  5. Durum wheat has very hard, high protein kernels but it-s the wrong kind of protein to form a strong gluten.

Corn Gluten

  1. Grain gluten can cause osteoporosis, Crohn's disease and rheumatoid arthritis.
  2. For instance one Purina brand lists ground yellow corn, poultry by-products and corn gluten meal as its top three ingredients.
  3. The second patent was on 5 dipeptides extracted from the hydrolyzed corn gluten meal.
  4. It will be easier, St. Sure says, when more people know about gluten.
  5. Others have grain sensitivities, especially to gluten, or to grain proteins in general.

Soy Flour

  1. As soy flour is gluten -free, yeast -raised breads made with soy flour are dense in texture.
  2. The flour of other cereals such as oats or maize, with little or no gluten, can be used only for flat cakes such as tortillas.
  3. When mixed with water and kneaded, the gluten in wheat or rye flour becomes elastic and traps small bubbles of carbon dioxide from yeast fermentation.
  4. Common gluten-free sources of fibre include fruit, vegetables, legumes, lentils, rice bran, psyllium husks, soy flour, soy grits, brown rice, nuts and seeds.
  5. Although rye flour does not develop true gluten, it is the only cereal grain other than wheat to have the necessary qualities to make bread.


  1. Celiac disease is also known as celiac sprue, nontropical sprue, and gluten-sensitive enteropathy.


  1. Chemistry > Biochemistry > Molecular Biology > Proteins
  2. Encyclopedia of Keywords > Nature > Life
  3. Nature > Life > Behavior > Action
  4. Encyclopedia of Keywords > Society > Humans > Medicine
  5. Glossaries > Glossary of Nutrition /
  6. Books about "Gluten" in

Book: Keywen Category Structure

  Short phrases about "Gluten"
  Originally created: March 20, 2008.
  Please send us comments and questions by this Online Form
  Please click on Move Up to move good phrases up.
0.023 sec. a=1..